Milne, Allen and Bracewell included in New Zealand’s T20 World Cup squad

Fast bowler Adam Milne has been included in New Zealand’s squad for the T20 World Cup after missing recent tours due to an Achilles problem.

Milne was part of last year’s tournament in the UAE after being called up as a replacement for Lockie Ferguson. During a career interrupted by injuries, he has taken 32 wickets at 26.68 in 31 T20Is. He forms the frontline pace options alongside Ferguson, Tim Southee and Trent Boult.

Also included in the 15-player squad are Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell who will appear at their first World Cup. Devon Conway will be the frontline wicketkeeper while Mark Chapman and Ish Sodhi retain their places.

Allen, the hard-hitting opening batter, has made a promising start to his international career and already has a T20I hundred – 101 off 56 balls against Scotland – while striking at 169.54 from his 13 matches.

Kyle Jamieson was not considered for selection as he continues his recovery from the back injury he picked up in England.

Martin Guptill will become the first New Zealander to appear at seven men’s T20 World Cups.

“It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event in which we played some really good cricket, but couldn’t quite get over the line at the end,” head coach Gary Stead said. “With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism.”

The same squad will play the T20 tri-series involving Pakistan and Bangladesh which will be staged early next month in Christchurch.

“Along with the all-important game time, those matches will be a great chance to refine our combinations and game-plans ahead of our departure to Australia,” Stead said.

New Zealand open their T20 World Cup campaign against hosts Australia, at the SCG, on October 22.

New Zealand squad Kane Williamson (capt), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

(With Inputs from ESPN)

#Milne #Allen #Bracewell #included #Zealands #T20 #World #Cup #squad