Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021: BJP gains lead in over 200 seats, Congress yet to reach 50


The Gujarat Civic Polls Result continues to be counted in 576 seats for the six metropolitan municipalities in Gujarat and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in the trends. Votes were cast on Sunday (February 21) in the six metropolitan municipalities Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Jamnagar and Bhavnagar and 48.15 percent voters exercised their franchise.

The counting of votes for six municipal corporations of Gujarat started at 9 am on Tuesday and is currently underway. As per the latest trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is ahead in over 200 seats till 12 noon while the Congress is leading on 42 seats.

The BJP is leading Jamjodhpur, Thaltej, Vastrapur, Asarwa, Saijpur, Nava Vadaj and Navrangpura wards in the local body polls. On the other hand, Congress is leading in Dariapur and Chandkheda wards, while the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is leading in Behrampura ward.

Advertisements- Website Security

The six civic bodies – Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar – were being ruled by the BJP. 

Advertisements- Best Female MMA Fight

Voting in the Gujarat local body polls was held on Sunday. The State Election Commission (SEC) has said an average 46.08 per cent turnout was registered during voting, which was held between 7 am and 6 pm.


Ahmedabad recorded the lowest turnout of 42.51 per cent, while Jamnagar saw the highest turnout of 53.38 per cent, followed by 50.72 per cent in Rajkot, 49.46 per cent in Bhavnagar, 47.84 per cent in Vadodara and 47.14 per cent in Surat. Of the total 1.14 crore voters registered in these major cities of Gujarat, 52.83 lakh had cast their ballots, the SEC said in a release.

It may be noted that tell that a total of 2,275 candidates are in the fray in the six metropolitan councils, whose fate will be decided today. Out of these, 577 are from BJP, 566 main opposition Congress, 91 Nationalist Congress Party, 470 Aam Aadmi Party, 353 from other parties and 228 are Independents. Many municipalities, zilla panchayats and taluka panchayats of the state will vote on February 28 and counting will take place on March 2.

12-Minute Affiliate

(With inputs from DNA India)

#Gujarat #Municipal #Election #Results #BJP #gains #lead #seats #Congress #reach

Advertisements- Best Boxing Match