England bat against Pakistan; Davies replaces Bell, Maroof misses clash

England bat against Pakistan; Davies replaces Bell, Maroof misses clash

Toss England chose to bat v Pakistan

Captain Heather Knight won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in sunny conditions in Newlands as England look to complete an unbeaten group phase ahead of the semi-finals.

Quick Lauren Bell has been rested from the clash and replaced by Freya Davies in England’s only change.

England are almost assured of securing top spot in Group 2, where they currently hold a sizeable net run rate advantage over India with a game in hand.

They can avoid defending champions Australia in the semi-finals if they expectedly clinch the group’s top spot.

England’s opponent won’t be determined until after the later Group 1 match between South Africa and Bangladesh in the final fixture of the group stages.

For Pakistan, it is a dead rubber. A heartbreaking three-run defeat to West Indies on Sunday ended their hopes of progressing to the knockout stage.

Pakistan skipper Bismah Maroof will miss the clash due to a groin injury along with quick Aamin Anwer. Opener Sadaf Shamas and Sidra Nawaz come into the line-up with Nida Dar taking the captaincy reins.

England hold a commanding 13-1 record against Pakistan in T20Is, including winning the past eight matches between the teams.

England: 1 Danni Wyatt, 2 Sophia Dunkley, 3 Alice Capsey, 4 Nat Sciver-Brunt, 5 Heather Knight (C), 6 Amy Jones (wk), 7 Katherine Sciver-Brunt, 8 Sophie Ecclestone, 9 Sarah Glenn, 10 Charlie Dean, 11 Freya Davies

Pakistan: 1 Sadaf Shamas, 2 Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, 3 Omaima Sohail, 4 Nida Dar (capt), 5 Aliya Riaz, 6 Sidra Amin, 8 Fatima Sana Khan, 8 Sidra Nawaz (wk), 9 Nashra Sandhu, 10 Tuba Hassan, 11 Sadia Iqbal

(With Inputs from ESPN)

#England #bat #Pakistan #Davies #replaces #Bell #Maroof #misses #clash